Bánh mì in Louisville (part 9 of an onging series): Annie’s Cafe with the folks

I’ve gotten a bit behind schedule here: this actuall happened months ago, when my parents were visiting town. It was a dreary cold weekend, and one day they suggested we go ount for bánh mì and coffee. We could get both done excellently within two doors of each other on Woodlawn, so down to Iroquois we went.

[Photo of a sandwich from Annie's Cafe]Annie Cafe on UrbanspoonI’ve written on previous occasions (here and here) about Annie’s Cafe (308 West Woodlawn Avenue). Annie’s remains much as it ever was, although I’ve gotten to chatting a bit more with the staff, who seem to number exactly three (at least in the front of the house). Our server was Annie’s son, and we talked with him a lot about bánh mìs, and he said something which, a few months ago, was actually a sneak peek at the future: he was apparently fixing in the not-too-distant future to open a bánh mì specialty shop in the Highlands (non-chronological spoiler: yes, it’s opened, and yes, I’ve been there).

I’ve said so much about Annie’s sandwiches before that there’s little enough left to be said now, although it’s worth noting that the two previous visits had moderately different sandwiches, not least due to the quantity (or indeed, presence) of lettuce. I think perhaps the sandwiches at Annie’s are perhaps affected by the availability and quality of produce, because the lettuce is back (or maybe lettuce was always a part of the sandwich, and it just got omitted on my second visit for some reason). Each member of my family got a different sandwich, with me going for my all-time favorite, the stringy, nutty bì. Their bí is good—I’ve had it on rice platters— and the composition was excellent as always. I think they might have gone a little more cilantro-heavy than usual here, but well within the limits of good sandwich balance. So on my thind visit, I continue to unreservedly recommend Annie’s. I’ve gotten a bit of a line on why the bánh mì isn’t actually on the menu, though: apparently it’s highly dependent on a third-party source of bread, and when the rolls run out, so do the sandwiches. So if you go too late in the day, they might not be able to satisfy.

About Jake
I'm a mathematics professor at the University of Louisville, and a geek.

Leave a Reply

