IFComp 2011: Fog Convict, by Andrew Metzger

This is the twenty-first game I am reviewing for the 17th Annual Interactive Fiction Competition; if you’re a judge, don’t read on unless you have already played and reviewed the game yourself.

Blurb: There’s a convict loose, a fog that just won’t go away, and you’re pretty sure your dorm mate just blew up his microwave. Just another day in college, right?

Ooh, it’s a game set in college, in TADS 2. Feels like 1994 or so all over again. Stylistically too, with an extremely high implementation depth in the dormroom and fairly sketchy implementation elsewhere. I smell an “I coded my dorm room” game. I wander aimlessly, doing the obvious things, and keep stumbling into painful disambiguations. I manage to get inexplicably trapped by an open door, and I don’t really have the heart to continue.

I’d like to be encouraging, so my advice is basically “try again please”. We could use more focus (make it clear which doors are actually game-relevant), better disambiguation, and thorough bug-checking. Also, unless you’re able to really wow people, I’d advise against a college or home setting, because they immediately incline most of us to distrust your abilities and creativity.

Rating: 2

About Jake
I'm a mathematics professor at the University of Louisville, and a geek.

Leave a Reply

