The Princess and the Frog

[Screenshot]I haven’t actually taken in a Disney original feature animated film in a while, and got the impression I wasn’t missing much, with increasing tokenization and worsening art and being pitched at Kids Today, from whom I am increasingly remote. But I got the impression this one was actually pretty good, so I decided to give it a go. I wasn’t disappointed! There’s actually some refreshing willingness to step outside of a lot of the boundaries which have bound Disney of late. It doesn’t have that trying-too-hard-to-be-hip vibe that characterizes far too much children’s entertainment today, and the animation is reminiscent of a less-stylized naturalistic design from Disney’s glory days. But it still seems to have basically modern sensibilities, and encompasses a number of good progressive ideals (strong women and large minority roles) without becoming oppressively tokenistic. The art is organic, the characters and voice-acting appealing, and the music pleasantly appropriate. It works quite well. I wasn’t blown away, but I was satisfied and entertained.

See also: IMDB, Wikipedia.

About Jake
I'm a mathematics professor at the University of Louisville, and a geek.

Leave a Reply

