IFComp 2009: “The Believable Adventures of an Invisible Man”

This is a game from the 2009 IFComp.

I’ve never read H.F. Saint’s Memoirs of an Invisible Man, so
if there’s any reference to that here, I won’t get it.

The text I encounter early on strikes me as somewhat juvenile. It
doesn’t help that this is another “you are a repulsive slob” game. I’m
struck immediately by what seems to be extensive parser-breaking: for
some reason, the usual supporter-exiting commands fail to get me off
the bed; somehow, “UNDO” got broken; “GET ALL” now includes items in
containers in my inventory, as well as scenery.

A pronoun got randomly changed on me, and “GET IT” became a
nonstandard game over. What the hell? I lose more confidence as the
game goes on. There are objects with inappropriate articles, objects
tagged as singular when they should be plural, and a myriad of other
bugs competent beta would’ve caught.

Between the shoddy implementation, the broken parser, and the
overall immature and vacuous style, I can’t get into this at all. It
kind of meets a bare standard for vague acceptability, but it would be
a lot better if it had a style worth appreciating (it seems to want to
be comedy, so “actually funny” would work) and some more extensive
testing and debugging.

About Jake
I'm a mathematics professor at the University of Louisville, and a geek.

Leave a Reply

