Slumdog Millionaire

[Screenshot]So, Slumdog Millionaire. I always feel unequal to trying to write something original about these extravaganzas that everybody has watched. I view my niche as obscure stuff most people haven’t heard of. I too liked Slumdog,but I don’t know what it was exactly that made it work for me. It didn’t bowl me completely over, but it kept me absorbed and interested. Some things which hit the right spots for me, though, were the nonlinear narrative, and the sense of the ordinary melding with the extraordinary: the story seesaws crazily between fantastical elements (whose extraordinariness is itself in some doubt) and the mundane life of people who are, in their own way, rather ordinary. Thematically, there are some open-ended games on what defines the characters: are they products of their experiences, or pawns of fate? Danny Boyle wants very much to suggest the latter, I think, but just because the director says so doesn’t mean I have to agree.

See also: IMDB, Wikipedia.

About Jake
I'm a mathematics professor at the University of Louisville, and a geek.

Leave a Reply

