My Beautiful Jinjiimaa

[Screenshot]I’m not sure how this ended up in my pull list. I was possible attracted by the fact that I’d never seen a Mongolian film before, and I added this one before I watched Genghis Khan. This is no Genghis Khan, I’m afraid. It’s a sentimental and largely predictable story. It throws in a few twists but none of them give it much narrative momentum. The cinemacraft is a big black mark against it: it has little, and has a low-quality shot-on-video look to it. The only thing I really got out of this one was a certain amount of rural Mongolian slice-of-life knowledge: even a fairly listless movie can transport us if the destination is unusual enough.

See also: IMDB has never heard of this film. And they’ve heard of everything.

About Jake
I'm a mathematics professor at the University of Louisville, and a geek.

Leave a Reply

