The Adventures of Sam & Max: Freelance Police, episodes 1–13

[Screenshot]My only real exposure to the Sam & Max franchise before now was through the comic books. I get the impression the LucasArts video games are regarded as the canonical presentation these days, so I have no idea how this stacks up to that in animation or voicing. The art and script generally capture the madcap and subversive style of the comic books, though, so from my viewpoint it’s a satisfactory realization of the characters, which is already a triumph given how wholly unsuitable the characters are for children’s television. The plots never seemed to quite gel for me though. Some of that might be length restrictions: each episode runs only about 10 minutes, and they’re all standalone, so it runs roughshod over developments which are never really given a chance to mature in any clever way. I’m conflicted on the introduction of the Geek as a character: as a straight-man she runs contrary as a major character to the general attitude of prior Sam & Max stories, and the gadgeteer angle is unnecessary as well, b ut somehow I ended up liking her character, for whatever reason.

I get the vague impression the computer and console games are the One True Way to experience Sam and Max, but I liked the comic books, and I mostly liked this. Individual episodes may be weak, but like Boston weather, if you don’t like it, wait 10 minutes and it’ll change.

See also: IMDB, Wikipedia.

About Jake
I'm a mathematics professor at the University of Louisville, and a geek.

Leave a Reply

