Meatball Machine

[Screenshot]Not entirely what I expected. I expected weird, but I also expected a lot more actual content. This devoloves quickly into a muddled, low-budget gorefest. If you’re into that sort of thing, good, I guess, but I spent all my capability to be amused by gonzo Japanese violence on Battle Royale. So I watched it to the end, but I’m not sure why. Perhaps because I expected it to eventually go somewhere interesting. Instead I got alien-controlled drill-intensive cyborgs battling each other. Really. Apropos of which, between this and Gurren Lagaan, I’m starting to think we may need to add “drills” to the rather long list of things with which the Japanese have an unhealthy fascination (in fairness, America has an equally long and mostly disjoint list — I think the main topics of overlap are “America” and “breasts”).

See also: IMDB.

About Jake
I'm a mathematics professor at the University of Louisville, and a geek.

Leave a Reply

