Chandni Bar

[Screenshot]Still hunting for an Indian film that really works for a Western audience. I’m trying something a bit different here: Chandni Bar throws off a lot of the typical Bollywood trappings here. There are no musical interludes in this one (there is pop music and a lot of dancing, but it revolves around the life of a bar dancer, so how could it not?). It’s a bleak story, full of violence and rape and degredation, and by the end it feels almost physically oppressive (it doesn’t help, of course, that it’s, like most Indian films, quite long). There’s a ray of sunshine in the middle, when it seems like it can end happily, which is just cruelty on the part of the filmmakers.

I can’t say that I enjoyed this film, in any meaningful sense of the word, but I can give it credit for accomplishing what it set out to do, which is to make me uncomfortable and take me out of my bubble.

See also: IMDB, Wikipedia.

About Jake
I'm a mathematics professor at the University of Louisville, and a geek.

Leave a Reply

