Blackadder the Third

[Screenshot]Argh, I’ve done it again, I’m afraid, and overwritten a perfectly good entry with a new one. The victim this time is Black Adder the Third, really my favorite so far in the series. I forgot most of the particularly clever things I said the first time I wrote this up, so you’ll have to take my word for it that they were intelligent and well-thought-out. Mostly, I was cheered to see Hugh Laurie, being foppish and foolish and managing to serve as an interesting and not purely villanous source of conflict for Atkinson’s eponymous character, in contrast to the contempt evinced by Brian Blessed’s excellent Duke of York, or the ditzy sadism of Miranda Richardson’s somewhat less excellent Queen Elizabeth. Anyways, certainly my favorite in the series so far, both in construction and in acting, despite being from a period in British history which I’ve only seen in a completely different light, namely, through the lens of Jane Austen novels. We’ll see what the fourth and final installment brings.

See also: IMDB, Wikipedia.

About Jake
I'm a mathematics professor at the University of Louisville, and a geek.

Leave a Reply

