The Black Adder: Appetizer?

[Screenshot]Even when it’s not terribly inspired, British comed tends to do OK in my book. Maybe it’s the accents, like they sounds like they should be funnier than Americans. Anyays, I have it on good authority that the first Black Adder is actually the weakest of the lot. Be that as it may, it lays the groundwork, I guess, for the entire series. It’s good enough for my taste: not howlingly funny, but good enough to get at least a few chuckles per episode. Rowan Atkinson is deliciously weaselly, disgusting enough and stupid enough that you wish he’d hurry up and die. I understand his character changes a lot in the next few series, which is fine, since I’m not too attached to this particular waste of humanity. I do like the historical conceit of the series, thoguh, the sort of peculiar alternate history it inhabits, and Brian Blessed does a lot to enliven it, so I liked this one despite its flaws, certainly enough to take a gander at its more highly esteemed sequels.

See also: IMDB, Wikipedia.

About Jake
I'm a mathematics professor at the University of Louisville, and a geek.

Leave a Reply

