The Ghost and Mrs. Muir: The Reason for this Season

Well, I actually watched this one on Tuesday, and I’m only writing it up now. Problem with the timestamps is that now everyone knows what a slacker I am.

I liked a great deal about this film, and can’t think of anything in particular I dislike. The entire interaction with George Sanders seemed to a certain extent like an unnecessary plot cul-de-sac, but I guess it’s the lever with which Captain Gregg’s disappearance is facilitated. I can’t actually complain, because George Sanders gave a deliciously oily performance, almost but not quite as good as his scoundrelliness in Rebecca. It’s really very much a character-driven story, and the characters are well-executed. Rex Harrison (who I’m not sure I’ve ever seen before) was effective as well, although his role is sufficiently cliche-ridden that it doesn’t seem like it takes much to make it solid. Gene Tierney is a hell of a lot better than the sort of nonentity she was in Laura, to say the very least.

One thing that bugged me a bit, in retrospect, is the character of Anna Muir. We see her in the first scene, and we expect her to be around and part of this unconventional household through the whole film, but she for the most part just vanishes except when she is absolutely necessary to the plot, which seems downright artificial.

And it’s got bathing-machines. Bathing-machines! That’s one of those delightfully quaint Britishisms which can make me almost forget Gene Tierney’s fairly obvious American accent.

See also: IMDB, Wikipedia.

About Jake
I'm a mathematics professor at the University of Louisville, and a geek.

Leave a Reply

