Taxi Driver: Make me wanna kill people

The only real connection I had to this film, having never seen it and being a child of the 80’s, was that it induced John W. Hinckley, Jr. to shoot Ronald Reagan. I can sort of see why. This film is very bad medicide for the mentally ill. Masterful work, dark, disturbing, disturbed, and superlatively twisted. I’m medium-sane and have better ways to work out my antipathy towards elected officials and/or impress actresses. Robert De Niro is a surprisingly effective lunatic, but that’s not surprising. He’s a freaky scary guy no matter what role he’s in.

Side note: it’s unfortunate, but my eyes kept reading every appearance of the candidate’s name, on signs and whatnot, as “Palpatine”. Which would make Travis Bickle Anakin Skywalker. I’d better shut up now, because I’d imagine George Lucas is already planning the scene where Bickle cuts the pimp’s hand off with a light saber. Is nothing sacred?

See also: IMDB, Wikipedia.

About Jake
I'm a mathematics professor at the University of Louisville, and a geek.

Leave a Reply

